Tip: To match a phrase, use quotation marks around the search term. eg. "Parliamentary Estate"


View sample alert
Lords Chamber
Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill - Wed 12 Jan 2022
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) Victims should and will be made aware more clearly of their availability. - Speech Link
2: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) I hope that I have made that very clear. - Speech Link
3: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) The rationale of the White Paper is to deliver a smarter, more targeted approach to sentencing. - Speech Link
4: Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede (LAB - Life peer) I made this point to the Minister when we met in private a few days ago. - Speech Link
5: None That fulfils a commitment in the rape review as well. - Speech Link
6: None On the two specific questions put to me, the review of the pilot is ongoing. - Speech Link
7: None That review is now under way—it launched formally on 17 December last year. - Speech Link
8: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) I made an incorrect statement in an earlier group. - Speech Link
9: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) However, we will look at the outcome of the review. - Speech Link
10: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) I will pick up a couple of the points made. - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Reducing Costs for Businesses - Tue 11 Jan 2022
Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Mentions:
1: Jonathan Reynolds (LAB - Stalybridge and Hyde) In contrast, we have made it very clear how Labour would act. We would take VAT off fuel bills. - Speech Link
2: Jonathan Reynolds (LAB - Stalybridge and Hyde) Friend has made that businesses are directly affected by energy costs too, because they are seeing their - Speech Link
3: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) The interventions that we have made are unprecedented, even for a politician like me who does not like - Speech Link
4: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) He has made his point, however, for which I thank him.We had all that support, and then when omicron - Speech Link
5: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) I refute in the strongest possible terms the charge made by the motion that we have failed to support - Speech Link
6: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) When policy is made at speed, it is a huge challenge, as the House knows, to ensure that we understand - Speech Link
7: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) I will not give way now, but perhaps in a moment.Months after those bold statements began to be made - Speech Link
8: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) when they come under scrutiny, away from the warm words.We have just gone through a business rates review - Speech Link
9: Chris Grayling (CON - Epsom and Ewell) We need that gas, we need the resources for the United Kingdom and we need a smarter strategy than that - Speech Link
10: Shaun Bailey (CON - West Bromwich West) Friend the Member for Hertford and Stortford (Julie Marson) made a really good point when she talked - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Charter for Budget Responsibility and Welfare Cap - Mon 10 Jan 2022
HM Treasury

Mentions:
1: Pat McFadden (LAB - Wolverhampton South East) He made a big thing of it. - Speech Link
2: Pat McFadden (LAB - Wolverhampton South East) The Leader of the House has made his views known. - Speech Link
3: John Redwood (CON - Wokingham) It is now built into the framework as a regular review item, although it has the extra twist that it - Speech Link
4: Richard Fuller (CON - North East Bedfordshire) I take the good point made by my right hon. - Speech Link
5: Jim Shannon (DUP - Strangford) The owner informs me that he has not made 1p more on these products. - Speech Link
6: None Budget and Spending Review 2021, which was laid before this House on 27 October 2021, be approved. - Speech Link
7: Rosie Winterton (LAB - Doncaster Central) Budget and Spending Review 2021, which was laid before this House on 27 October 2021, be approved. - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Prisons Strategy - Thu 16 Dec 2021
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: None We secured almost £4 billion at the spending review to carry out the biggest prison-building programme - Speech Link
2: None We are also designing smarter prisons such as HMP Five Wells in Wellingborough and Glen Parva in Leicestershire - Speech Link
3: Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede (LAB - Life peer) contains next to no credible solutions to the multiple problems plaguing our existing estate, which have made - Speech Link
4: Lord Paddick (LDEM - Life peer) The Statement says that the Ministry of Justice has secured enough money in the spending review to build - Speech Link
5: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) In 2020, we accepted all bar one of the review body’s recommendations on pay and, as we announced in - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill
Lords Hansard - Part 1 - Wed 15 Dec 2021
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd (CB - Life peer) Majesty’s Government intend to do in relation to consistency and how, in due course, the House can review - Speech Link
2: None In the 2020 White Paper from the Ministry of Justice, A Smarter Approach to Sentencing, the Government - Speech Link
3: None I made that point in Committee. - Speech Link
4: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) In fact, they have already committed to such a review. - Speech Link
5: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) It may also be that this review, and the public inquiry into the offending in hospitals in Kent, will - Speech Link
6: Lord Moylan (CON - Life peer) Close examination of the current legislation makes it clear that the review can be undertaken only on - Speech Link
7: None not have made one on his or her own initiative. - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Energy: Civil Nuclear Power - Thu 09 Dec 2021
No Department present

Mentions:
1: Lord Broers (CB - Life peer) To do this, we must reduce and, preferably, eliminate man-made CO2. - Speech Link
2: Lord Wigley (PC - Life peer) The case for nuclear has to be made with conviction and confidence and with some urgency.Nuclear physics - Speech Link
3: Lord Lea of Crondall (Non-affiliated - Life peer) My Lords, in following the noble Lord, Lord Wigley, I am very glad that he made such a deft connection - Speech Link
4: Viscount Trenchard (CON - Excepted Hereditary) While laudable progress has been made with reducing electricity emissions, less than half of that 20% - Speech Link
5: Lord Oates (LDEM - Life peer) Secondly, we could reduce the capacity required in the energy system through much smarter use of demand - Speech Link
6: Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist (CON - Life peer) million future nuclear enabling fund, the details of which are being worked up following the spending review - Speech Link
7: Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist (CON - Life peer) It is a point well made and I take it seriously, but I think we will get much more information coming - Speech Link


Westminster Hall
Sickle Cell Treatment - Wed 08 Dec 2021
Department of Health and Social Care

Mentions:
1: Greg Clark (CON - Tunbridge Wells) We made some recommendations as to how we could improve our practice in future. As the right hon. - Speech Link
2: Jim Shannon (DUP - Strangford) I am not smarter than anyone else when it comes to health issues, but I just happened to say to my staff - Speech Link
3: Florence Eshalomi (LAB - Vauxhall) sickle cell can affect anybody.Reading through some of the failings in Evan’s care—or lack of care—made - Speech Link
4: Bell Ribeiro-Addy (LAB - Streatham) Unfortunately, for those of African and Caribbean heritage, the experience of sickle cell is made far - Speech Link
5: Liz Kendall (LAB - Leicester West) That point was made in evidence to the APPG by Global Blood Therapeutics, which clearly said that the - Speech Link
6: Maria Caulfield (CON - Lewes) We will see where improvements have been made and where improvements still need to be made. - Speech Link
7: Maria Caulfield (CON - Lewes) I am happy to take that forward.I want to reassure colleagues that progress is being made. - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Prisons Strategy - Tue 07 Dec 2021
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: Victoria Atkins (CON - Louth and Horncastle) We secured almost £4 billion at the spending review to carry out the biggest prison-building programme - Speech Link
2: Ellie Reeves (LAB - Lewisham West and Penge) I remember a visit that I made to Rochester Prison a few years ago. - Speech Link
3: Victoria Atkins (CON - Louth and Horncastle) If I may, however, I will start by correcting some of the statements that she has just made. - Speech Link
4: Victoria Atkins (CON - Louth and Horncastle) Gentleman will take the time to read the report, as he will see our emphasis on the vital contribution made - Speech Link
5: Victoria Atkins (CON - Louth and Horncastle) Gentleman and the House as soon as decisions have been made. - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Ten-Year Drugs Strategy - Mon 06 Dec 2021
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: Kit Malthouse (CON - North West Hampshire) need.In February 2019, the Government commissioned Professor Dame Carol Black to conduct an independent review - Speech Link
2: Sarah Jones (LAB - Croydon Central) ahead of the Government to groom kids and sell them drugs.The question Dame Carol Black answered in her review - Speech Link
3: Kit Malthouse (CON - North West Hampshire) distribution reacted as any business would: it found different products and new ways to distribute, made - Speech Link
4: Kit Malthouse (CON - North West Hampshire) the party of which he is a member, and the Government in place in Scotland, have relatively recently made - Speech Link
5: Kit Malthouse (CON - North West Hampshire) We have made the commitment that 100% will be covered, and that obviously includes female offenders. - Speech Link
6: Florence Eshalomi (LAB - Vauxhall) The drug barons get smarter every day—it is not just about burner phones; they adapt their business models - Speech Link
7: Kit Malthouse (CON - North West Hampshire) Members made a good point about the pernicious nature of the exploitation perpetrated by these drug dealers - Speech Link
8: Kit Malthouse (CON - North West Hampshire) Happily, they have made an investment in health just recently—just before the election in which they - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
National Insurance Contributions Bill
2nd reading - Wed 01 Dec 2021
No Department present

Mentions:
1: Viscount Younger of Leckie (CON - Excepted Hereditary) Any decision to extend will be taken only on review of the relief’s impact. - Speech Link
2: Lord Davies of Brixton (LAB - Life peer) To me it is axiomatic that when changes are made to the contributions paid into or the benefits paid - Speech Link
3: Lord Bilimoria (CB - Life peer) He said that one of the key levers the Government can use to get businesses investing more is smarter - Speech Link
4: Baroness Kramer (LDEM - Life peer) I feel rather privileged to be one of the winders.I want to open with a point made by the noble Lords - Speech Link
5: Viscount Younger of Leckie (CON - Excepted Hereditary) the basis that the Government argued they were unnecessary, as we have already indicated that we will review - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Health and Care Bill - Tue 23 Nov 2021
Department of Health and Social Care

Mentions:
1: Andrew Murrison (CON - South West Wiltshire) It is just doing what they want to do, which is to work smarter and thus get more out of the system, - Speech Link
2: Justin Madders (LAB - Ellesmere Port and Neston) However, the main point, which I have made already, is to compel a regular report and review of demand - Speech Link
3: None The evidence is behind it, as is the Keogh review. - Speech Link
4: Paul Bristow (CON - Peterborough) It is also about ensuring that the NHS works smarter. - Speech Link
5: Matt Warman (CON - Boston and Skegness) I implore the Minister to include a few things in his 15-year review. - Speech Link
6: None Question put, That the amendment be made. - Speech Link
7: None Question put, That the amendment be made. - Speech Link
8: None Question put, That the amendment be made. - Speech Link
9: Edward Argar (CON - Charnwood) Friend has made his point. He has made it to me before. - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill
Lords Hansard - part one - Wed 17 Nov 2021
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: Lord Falconer of Thoroton (LAB - Life peer) it, but it will take as long as it takes to get an answer as to whether special provisions will be made - Speech Link
2: Lord German (LDEM - Life peer) This House has certainly made its view well known and presented it to the House of Commons. - Speech Link
3: None I have made the point about the bipartisan nature of the problem. - Speech Link
4: None Gone is the time for review, although I note and accept the points made by the noble Lord, Lord Hogan-Howe - Speech Link
5: Lord Falconer of Thoroton (LAB - Life peer) of this, because broadly the case is made in relation to it. - Speech Link
6: None The genesis of the youth justice measures in this Bill is the White Paper entitled A Smarter Approach - Speech Link
7: None We will though want to keep this issue under review.” - Speech Link
8: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) That review is expected to be published in the spring. - Speech Link
9: Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames (LDEM - Life peer) or is to be made subject to such an order. - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Oral Answers to Questions - Tue 16 Nov 2021
Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Mentions:
1: Stephen Metcalfe (CON - South Basildon and East Thurrock) What progress his Department has made on delivering the “Life Sciences Vision”. - Speech Link
2: Stephen Metcalfe (CON - South Basildon and East Thurrock) Friend’s Department that was delivered during the spending review, a good chunk of which will, I hope - Speech Link
3: Kwasi Kwarteng (CON - Spelthorne) are vital, and I am pleased to confirm that we have already allocated £354 million in the spending review - Speech Link
4: Paul Howell (CON - Sedgefield) Friend agree that the recent comprehensive spending review and Budget announcement shows that the Government - Speech Link
5: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) Smarter programme, the Catapult programme and others. - Speech Link
6: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) was an author of that report, and the Secretary of State and I, and all Ministers, will continue to review - Speech Link
7: Robert Largan (CON - High Peak) I urge the Minister to urgently review the UK’s emissions trading system benchmark for lime producers - Speech Link
8: Lee Rowley (CON - North East Derbyshire) Friend is absolutely right that we have made huge progress so far or we have made a good start in trying - Speech Link
9: Greg Hands (CON - Chelsea and Fulham) On the offshore transmission network review, Ofgem has consulted on options for delivery models for offshore - Speech Link


Grand Committee
Budget Statement - Wed 03 Nov 2021
Cabinet Office

Mentions:
1: Lord Agnew of Oulton (CON - Life peer) My Lords, the Budget and spending review that the Chancellor set out last week delivers a stronger economy - Speech Link
2: Lord Lamont of Lerwick (CON - Life peer) The point was very well made. - Speech Link
3: Baroness McIntosh of Pickering (CON - Life peer) care, but none is made to GPs. - Speech Link
4: Lord Shipley (LDEM - Life peer) But now the Government have decided to avoid that full review. - Speech Link
5: Lord Balfe (CON - Life peer) I shall leave it at that.The position has been made about education and health. - Speech Link
6: Lord Agnew of Oulton (CON - Life peer) Smarter adoption programme to boost the productivity of manufacturing and SMEs and the £1.4 billion - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Advanced Research and Invention Agency Bill
2nd reading - Tue 02 Nov 2021
Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Mentions:
1: Viscount Stansgate (LAB - Excepted Hereditary) necessary to enable ARIA to generate the creativity required to do things differently.The Minister made - Speech Link
2: Lord Clement-Jones (LDEM - Life peer) I see now that we are due a review of UKRI, on top of the Nurse review. - Speech Link
3: Lord Bethell (CON - Excepted Hereditary) By way of a metaphor, perhaps I may tell you this: I remember when the Prime Minister made generalised - Speech Link
4: Lord Borwick (CON - Excepted Hereditary) That is a point made by the noble Lord, Lord Davies.Thirdly, Clause 2(4)(b), states that the conditions - Speech Link
5: Lord Rees of Ludlow (CB - Life peer) Unless we get smarter, we will get poorer. - Speech Link
6: Lord Fox (LDEM - Life peer) They have not made up their mind; they are waiting for someone else—the chief executive and the chair—to - Speech Link
7: Baroness Chapman of Darlington (LAB - Life peer) Various schedules and accompanying framework documents have been referred to but have not yet been made - Speech Link