Tip: To match a phrase, use quotation marks around the search term. eg. "Parliamentary Estate"


View sample alert
Commons Chamber
Elections Bill - Mon 17 Jan 2022
Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

Mentions:
1: Eleanor Laing (CON - Epping Forest) person, for a period as may be prescribed in the order.(12) The Commission must keep each order under review - Speech Link
2: Brendan O'Hara (SNP - Argyll and Bute) Ministers will be allowed to ignore legal rulings made under judicial review and there are plans to abolish - Speech Link
3: None A boundary review is coming. - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill - Mon 17 Jan 2022
Home Office

Mentions:
1: Baroness Williams of Trafford (CON - Life peer) Any further changes will thus simply reflect the routine need periodically to review such guidance. - Speech Link
2: None under section 61 of the Sexual Offences Act 2003 (1) The Secretary of State must establish a review - Speech Link
3: Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede (LAB - Life peer) The purpose of the amendment is to ask the Government to set up a review of drinks spiking and needle - Speech Link
4: None court or inquiry of its own motion, or(c) where there are no extant court or inquiry proceedings, by judicial - Speech Link
5: Lord Mackay of Clashfern (CON - Life peer) Obviously, judges have to understand lots of different things that come before them and the judicial - Speech Link
6: None This created a not unsubstantial problem that one of the central drivers of the review was to create - Speech Link
7: None Thirdly, it would make the law more complex when a central aim of the review was to simplify it. - Speech Link
8: None It is disappointing that the Government need more time to reflect on this part, given that the review - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Business of the House - Thu 13 Jan 2022
Leader of the House

Mentions:
1: Jacob Rees-Mogg (CON - North East Somerset) stages of the Leasehold Reform (Ground Rent) Bill [Lords].Tuesday 25 January—Remaining stages of the Judicial - Speech Link
2: Jacob Rees-Mogg (CON - North East Somerset) I can reassure him that the review of MPs’ security with the Home Office and the Metropolitan police - Speech Link
3: Jacob Rees-Mogg (CON - North East Somerset) a real-terms increase of 1.9%, but there is £35 billion-worth of rail investment over the spending review - Speech Link
4: Jacob Rees-Mogg (CON - North East Somerset) radicalisation, and it offers support predominantly through local community partnerships.The independent review - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill - Wed 12 Jan 2022
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames (LDEM - Life peer) My Lords, this amendment seeks the establishment of a royal commission to carry out a full review of - Speech Link
2: None That fulfils a commitment in the rape review as well. - Speech Link
3: None We have already started preparations with judicial colleagues and other partners in the criminal justice - Speech Link
4: None On the two specific questions put to me, the review of the pilot is ongoing. - Speech Link
5: None That review is now under way—it launched formally on 17 December last year. - Speech Link
6: Baroness Kennedy of Cradley (Non-affiliated - Life peer) But in 2004, when this House also acted in its judicial capacity, it considered an appeal by a Mr J, - Speech Link
7: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) The review will be completed in time to inform the retendering of our contracts in 2023. - Speech Link
8: None SI on this matter that had been through both Houses of Parliament, it might have been struck down on judicial - Speech Link


Westminster Hall
Beam Park Station - Tue 11 Jan 2022
Department for Transport

Mentions:
1: Jon Cruddas (LAB - Dagenham and Rainham) I am told that Havering Council has instructed lawyers to consider a judicial review against the Department - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Oral Answers to Questions - Mon 10 Jan 2022
Ministry of Defence

Mentions:
1: Bob Stewart (CON - Beckenham) able seamen and aircraftsmen, after six months’ training and in accordance with the Armed Forces’ Pay Review - Speech Link
2: Leo Docherty (CON - Aldershot) We are also initiating a strategic review of terms and conditions and reward and incentivisation to ensure - Speech Link
3: Martin Docherty-Hughes (SNP - West Dunbartonshire) Secretary of State assure the House that the centre will be able to preserve its independence following the review - Speech Link
4: Stephen Kinnock (LAB - Aberavon) reconsider their approach and finally recognise that these cases should be dealt with by the civilian judicial - Speech Link
5: Leo Docherty (CON - Aldershot) We will keep this under review but we regard it as a matter for the advisory military sub-committee on - Speech Link
6: Ben Wallace (CON - Wyre and Preston North) The steps we have taken on judicial oversight, the Judge Henriques review of the service justice system - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill
Lords Hansard - Part 2 - Mon 10 Jan 2022
Home Office

Mentions:
1: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) How a hearing is to be conducted is a matter for judicial decision on a case-by-case basis. - Speech Link
2: None Scotland, they did this and they managed, and the sky did not fall through—if I can adopt the traditional judicial - Speech Link
3: Lord Coaker (LAB - Life peer) What would the Government’s Home Office-led review be able to do if a witness refuses to attend, if the - Speech Link
4: Lord Carlile of Berriew (CB - Life peer) unreasonably the Home Secretary refuses that reasonable request, would that refusal then be subject to judicial - Speech Link
5: Baroness Williams of Trafford (CON - Life peer) In my limited legal knowledge, a judicial review questions the process rather than the decision, so I - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Legislation: Skeleton Bills and Delegated Powers - Thu 06 Jan 2022
Cabinet Office

Mentions:
1: Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood (CB - Life Peer (judicial)) Human Rights Act by allowing extended circumstances in which damages can be awarded in respect of a judicial - Speech Link
2: Lord Anderson of Ipswich (CB - Life peer) that cannot be used without massive and destructive retaliation.The Hansard Society in its current review - Speech Link
3: Lord True (CON - Life peer) consent to seven statutory instruments.The Government agree with my noble friend Lord Strathclyde in his review - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Nationality and Borders Bill
2nd reading - Wed 05 Jan 2022
Home Office

Mentions:
1: Baroness Chakrabarti (LAB - Life peer) inevitably be applied in a racist fashion, with the Executive determining without public scrutiny, judicial - Speech Link
2: Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (GRN - Life peer) Of course, because citizenship will have been revoked without any notice, any judicial review or other - Speech Link
3: Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede (LAB - Life peer) Review and Courts Bill, which is currently proceeding in the other place. - Speech Link
4: Lord Hylton (CB - Excepted Hereditary) Long ago, I suggested a review panel with an independent majority to speed up work on the cases that - Speech Link
5: Lord Teverson (LDEM - Life peer) Review and Courts Bill. - Speech Link
6: Lord Lilley (CON - Life peer) review, and low levels of proof. - Speech Link
7: Baroness Kennedy of Shaws (LAB - Life peer) One-third of judicial reviews against the Home Office are settled or decided in the claimant’s favour - Speech Link
8: Baroness Stroud (CON - Life peer) Secondly, have Her Majesty’s Government assessed the likely legal costs of judicial review applications - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Public Service Pensions and Judicial Offices Bill [Lords] - Wed 05 Jan 2022
HM Treasury

Mentions:
1: Simon Clarke (CON - Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland) The commission carried out a deep, structural review of public service pensions. - Speech Link
2: Simon Clarke (CON - Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland) was not operating as originally intended, the Government Actuary was asked to conduct an independent review - Speech Link
3: Robert Neill (CON - Bromley and Chislehurst) I entirely support what the Minister says about judicial pensions reform, but, since he wears another - Speech Link
4: Robert Buckland (CON - South Swindon) I have had the privilege of serving on the judicial diversity forum, which is a committee of the Judicial - Speech Link
5: Robert Neill (CON - Bromley and Chislehurst) I hope that it is a part of package that we must have to make a judicial career attractive. - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Bosnia-Herzegovina - Thu 16 Dec 2021
Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

Mentions:
1: Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth (CON - Life peer) The Bosnian Serb part of the country is undermining state institutions—the army, the judicial system, - Speech Link
2: Baroness Warsi (CON - Life peer) Republika Srpska institutions and proposing legislation for Republika Srpska to withdraw from state judicial - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Business of the House - Thu 16 Dec 2021
Leader of the House

Mentions:
1: Jacob Rees-Mogg (CON - North East Somerset) January—The House will not be sitting.Wednesday 5 January—Second Reading of the Public Service Pensions and Judicial - Speech Link
2: Jacob Rees-Mogg (CON - North East Somerset) In December 2017, the Home Office published a review of the Scrap Metal Dealers Act 2013, which I happen - Speech Link


Commons Chamber
Christmas Adjournment - Thu 16 Dec 2021
No Department present

Mentions:
1: Paul Holmes (CON - Eastleigh) group of green activists—I call them that politely—then appealed the decision again and we now face a judicial - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Delivering Justice for Victims - Thu 16 Dec 2021
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: None We have published the end-to-end rape review report, setting out a plan of action to drive improvements - Speech Link
2: None Members will recall the Government’s rape review action plan, which was published in June. - Speech Link
3: Lord Paddick (LDEM - Life peer) The Statement says that the Government will publish a report on progress against the rape review action - Speech Link
4: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) In the Judicial Review and Courts Bill, which the House will consider next year, Clause 11, I think, - Speech Link
5: Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle (GRN - Life peer) process has been dropped.Secondly, picking up the Minister’s point about the money from the spending review - Speech Link


Lords Chamber
Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill
Lords Hansard - Part 2 - Wed 15 Dec 2021
Ministry of Justice

Mentions:
1: Baroness Lister of Burtersett (LAB - Life peer) My suggestion was to wait until the end of the consultation, which we are told will be next April, review - Speech Link
2: None Schedule 13: Community and suspended sentence orders: special procedures relating to review and breach - Speech Link
3: Baroness Neville-Rolfe (CON - Life peer) I believe there should be a regular review to monitor its effectiveness, hence my amendment proposing - Speech Link
4: Lord Bishop of Gloucester (Bishops - Bishops) According to Dr Minson’s research, judicial understanding of the guidelines in case law, which set out - Speech Link
5: Lord Wolfson of Tredegar (CON - Life peer) We specify in the White Paper that, although we do not propose to alter current judicial discretion, - Speech Link
6: Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle (GRN - Life peer) My idea of a review is that if you were to hold a review, as the Justice Committee in the other place - Speech Link
7: None We believe the current age is appropriate and there is no need to either change or review it. - Speech Link