Local Government: Constituencies

(asked on 10th May 2018) - View Source

Question to the Department for Levelling Up, Housing & Communities:

To ask Her Majesty's Government which local authorities in England that are due to hold elections in May 2019 have been subject to boundary reviews conducted by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England; which of those boundary reviews have already received parliamentary approval; and when they expect to lay the remaining orders before Parliament.

This question was answered on 24th May 2018

There are 52 local authorities in England due to hold local elections in May 2019 that have been subject to, or are currently the subject of, an electoral review conducted by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. Those authorities are: Allerdale; Ashford; Babergh; Basingstoke and Deane; Bath and North East Somerset; Bolsover; Carlisle; Cheshire West and Chester; Chichester; Copeland; Crawley; Dartford; Dover; East Cambridgeshire; East Devon; East Hampshire; Eastbourne; Forest of Dean; Harborough; Hertsmere; Horsham; King's Lynn and West Norfolk; Lewes; Mid Suffolk; North Devon; North East; Derbyshire; North Norfolk; Norwich; Nottingham; Preston; Redcar and Cleveland; Reigate and Banstead; Ribble Valley; Richmondshire; Rother; Runnymede; Rutland; Scarborough; South Gloucestershire; South Norfolk; South Somerset; Surrey Heath; Teignbridge; Tendring; Test Valley; Tewkesbury; Torbay; Torridge; Warwick; Wealden; West Berkshire; and Windsor and Maidenhead.

Full details of all current and previous reviews are published on the Commission’s website www.lgbce.org.uk/

The Commission intends to lay any outstanding orders for Parliamentary approval by, at the latest, Christmas recess.

In addition, there is an expectation that the Commission is likely to undertake electoral reviews of the five new district councils – Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole; Dorset; East Suffolk; Somerset West and Taunton; and West Suffolk – which would be established by the secondary legislation that Parliament has recently approved, and which provides for their first elections to be held in May 2019.

Reticulating Splines