Lord Bellingham Portrait

Lord Bellingham

Conservative - Life peer

Panel of Chairs
11th Sep 2017 - 6th Nov 2019
High Speed Rail (London - West Midlands) Bill (Commons)
29th Apr 2014 - 22nd Feb 2016
Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Foreign and Commonwealth Office)
17th May 2010 - 6th Sep 2012
Shadow Minister (Justice)
20th Nov 2006 - 6th May 2010
Opposition Whip (Commons)
10th May 2005 - 20th Nov 2006
Shadow Minister
1st Jul 2003 - 10th May 2005
Trade & Industry
2nd Dec 2002 - 8th Dec 2003
Shadow Minister (Trade and Industry)
3rd Jul 2002 - 1st Jul 2003
Northern Ireland Affairs Committee
16th Jul 2001 - 2nd Nov 2002

There are no upcoming events identified
Division Votes
Wednesday 27th April 2022
Judicial Review and Courts Bill
voted No - in line with the party majority
One of 208 Conservative No votes vs 2 Conservative Aye votes
Tally: Ayes - 219 Noes - 229
Thursday 19th May 2022
India: Cereals Export Ban
Given this catastrophic situation of world food shortages, surely it is imperative that Russia is made to lift its vindictive …
Written Answers
Thursday 3rd October 2019
Broadband and Mobile Phones: Rural Areas
What steps her Department is taking to increase (a) broadband and (b) mobile phone coverage in rural areas.
Early Day Motions
Wednesday 30th October 2019
South Sudan peace process
That this House expresses its support for the people of the Republic of South Sudan; asks all parties to uphold …
Tuesday 19th December 2017
Emergency Response Drivers (Protections) Bill 2017-19
The Bill failed to complete its passage through Parliament before the end of the session. This means the Bill will …
None available
MP Financial Interests
None available
EDM signed
Wednesday 24th July 2019
That this House welcomes the launch of the Any Disability Symbol in Parliament on 4 June 2019; endorses the use …
Supported Legislation
Tuesday 9th January 2018
Construction (Retention Deposit Schemes) Bill 2017-19
The Bill failed to complete its passage through Parliament before the end of the session. This means the Bill will …

Division Voting information

During the current Parliamentary Session, Lord Bellingham has voted in 218 divisions, and 1 time against the majority of their Party.

8 Dec 2021 - Police, Crime, Sentencing and Courts Bill - View Vote Context
Lord Bellingham voted No - against a party majority and against the House
One of 9 Conservative No votes vs 128 Conservative Aye votes
Tally: Ayes - 211 Noes - 82
View All Lord Bellingham Division Votes

Debates during the 2019 Parliament

Speeches made during Parliamentary debates are recorded in Hansard. For ease of browsing we have grouped debates into individual, departmental and legislative categories.

Sparring Partners
Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay (Conservative)
Lord in Waiting (HM Household) (Whip)
(5 debate interactions)
Baroness Goldie (Conservative)
Minister of State (Ministry of Defence)
(4 debate interactions)
Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park (Conservative)
Minister of State (Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs)
(4 debate interactions)
View All Sparring Partners
View all Lord Bellingham's debates

Commons initiatives

These initiatives were driven by Lord Bellingham, and are more likely to reflect personal policy preferences.

MPs who are act as Ministers or Shadow Ministers are generally restricted from performing Commons initiatives other than Urgent Questions.

Lord Bellingham has not been granted any Urgent Questions

Lord Bellingham has not been granted any Adjournment Debates

1 Bill introduced by Lord Bellingham

The Bill failed to complete its passage through Parliament before the end of the session. This means the Bill will make no further progress. A Bill to provide protection for drivers of emergency vehicles responding to emergencies from civil liability and criminal prosecution in specified circumstances; to make related provision about criminal proceedings and sentencing; and for connected purposes.

Last Event - 1st Reading: House Of Commons
Tuesday 19th December 2017
(Read Debate)

Lord Bellingham has not asked any Written Questions in the current parliament