

# All-Party Parliamentary Group for Transport Safety

# Minutes of AGM: Tuesday 19<sup>th</sup> October 2021, 14.00-14.30, via Teams

(Draft for approval at next meeting)

Attendees (Members)

Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Barry Sheerman MP, Ruth Cadbury MP, Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb, Lord Randall of Uxbridge

Secretariat: David Davies (Executive Director, PACTS)

## **Apologies**

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe, Lord Berkeley, Baroness Randerson, Lord Robertson of Port Ellen, Lilian Greenwood MP, Darren Henry MP, James Sunderland MP, Naz Shah MP, Selaine Saxby MP, Huw Merriman MP.

In the Chair: Sir Peter Bottomley MP

# Minutes

**1.** Welcome, apologies, and changes in membership and officers during 2020/21 The Chair welcomed members and noted apologies.

Regarding changes in group officers:

- Lilian Greenwood's works as the previous chair was acknowledged.
- The sad death of Viscount Simon (a vice-chairman for many years) was noted.

### 2. Election of Parliamentary Officers for the year 2021/22

Other than Lilian Greenwood, no officers had stepped down and no members had resigned while several had put themselves forward for posts. Parliamentary officers for the Transport Safety All-Party Parliamentary Group were elected or re-elected as follows:



# **Transport Safety**

- Chair and Registered Contact Sir Peter Bottomley MP (Conservative)
- Co-Chairs
- Ruth Cadbury MP (Labour)
- Baroness Randerson (Liberal Democrat)
- Vice-Chairs
- Lord Bradshaw (Liberal Democrat)
- Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green)
- Lord Robertson of Port Ellen (Labour)
- Tony Lloyd MP (Labour)
- Barry Sheerman MP (Labour & Co-operative)

#### Other Members

- Judith Cummins MP
- Jack Dromey MP
- Lilian Greenwood MP
- Matt Rodda MP
- Lord Bates
- Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe
- Lord Young of Cookham

Under the rules for All-Party Parliamentary Groups, the Chair is also the Registered Contact for Group.

#### 3. Financial matters

David Davies reported that the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Transport Safety received no income and incurred no expenses in 2020/21.

#### 4. Appointment of secretariat

The Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS), was requested to continue to fulfil their secretariat, role at no charge. This was agreed by PACTS.

#### 5. The year ahead

Members discussed topics and possible activities for the year ahead, including:

- Implications of major changes at Highways England (now National Highways)
- Changes to the guidelines for MOTs in relation to safety
- Proposed changes to the Highway Code to assist cyclists and pedestrians, and how they will be communicated
- Consequences of relaxing safety standards (tests and driver hours) for HGV drivers.
- The safety of e-scooters
- Driving for work. The Chair of the HSE has offered to give presentation to the APPG.



David Davies reported that Lords Berkeley and Brook of Alverthorpe had tabled road safety amendments to the Police, Crime etc Bill. Ruth Cadbury requested that APPG members be kept informed. (Action: PACTS.)

#### 6. Report from Secretariat

David Davies reported that the Government had announced it was developing a new road safety framework. This is anticipated following announcements on the Comprehensive Spending Review and its implications for DfT.

Sir Peter suggested that, given the secretariat's 40<sup>th</sup> anniversary in 2022, PACTS founder Barry Sheerman MP (Labour & Co-operative) be nominated as President of the APPG for the year.

## 7. Date of the next meeting

In late November, date to be advised.

There being no other business, the Chair declared the meeting closed.

Website: http://www.transportsafetyappg.org.uk/

#### Secretariat

Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS)

Contact

David G Davies, Executive Director, PACTS <a href="mailto:davies@pacts.org.uk">david.davies@pacts.org.uk</a> 0207 222 7732