

# All-Party Parliamentary Group for Transport Safety

Minutes of AGM: Monday 11<sup>th</sup> July 2022, 16.00 - 16.30, Room B – 1 Parliament Street.

(Draft for formal approval at next AGM)

Attendees (Members)

Sir Peter Bottomley MP, Barry Sheerman MP, Ruth Cadbury MP, Wes Streeting MP, Kim Leadbeater MP, Lord Berkeley.

Secretariat: David Davies (Executive Director - PACTS), Kumar Niketan (Advocacy Officer - PACTS)

## **Apologies**

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe, Baroness Randerson, Lord Robertson of Port Ellen, Lilian Greenwood MP, Baroness Finlay of Llandaff, Gill Furniss MP, Fleur Anderson MP, Lord Bradshaw, Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb, Christina Rees MP, Lord Young of Cookham, Jack Dromey MP, Matt Rodda MP.

In the Chair: Sir Peter Bottomley MP

# Minutes

#### 1. Welcome and apologies

The Chair welcomed members and noted apologies. The meeting was declared quorate.

#### Election of Parliamentary Officers for the year 2021/22

No officers had indicated that they wished to step down or resign and no members had put themselves forward for posts. The Group noted with sadness that Viscount Simon, a Vice-Chairman, has passed away since the last AGM.

Parliamentary officers for the Transport Safety All-Party Parliamentary Group were elected or reelected as follows:



- Co-Chair and Registered Contact
- Sir Peter Bottomley MP (Conservative)

- Co-Chairs
- Ruth Cadbury MP (Labour)
- Baroness Randerson (Liberal Democrat)
- Vice-Chairs
- Lord Bradshaw (Liberal Democrat)
- Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb (Green)
- Lord Robertson of Port Ellen (Labour)
- Tony Lloyd MP (Labour)
- Barry Sheerman MP (Labour & Co-operative)

#### Other Members

- Judith Cummins MP
- Jack Dromey MP
- Lilian Greenwood MP
- Matt Rodda MP.
- Christina Rees MP
- Lord Bates
- Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe
- Lord Young of Cookham
- Baroness McIntosh of Pickering

#### 2. Financial matters

David Davies reported that the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Transport Safety received no income and incurred no expenses in 2021/22.

### 3. Appointment of the secretariat

The Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS) was requested to continue to fulfil their secretariat role at no charge. This was agreed by PACTS.

#### 4. Topics of interest from the members

Members discussed topics and possible activities for the year ahead, including:

- A greater role for the Office of Rail and Road (ORR) in road safety regulation.
- Inclusions in and implications of the upcoming Transport Bill on safety.
- Safety of the electric micromobility options their use and design, including the safety of batteries.
- The safety of electric cars, including battery fires.
- Potential and challenges of HGV's running on hydrogen safety and infrastructure.
- Adequate infrastructure for pedestrians and active travel. (Action: PACTS)



#### 5. Report from Secretariat

David Davies reported that the Government was expected to announce its new Road Safety Strategic Framework on 18<sup>th</sup> July at the RAC club.

David Davies reminded members of the APPG that they were invited to the PACTS 40<sup>th</sup> anniversary reception on Thursday, 14<sup>th</sup> July 2022 in Cholmondeley Room, House of Lords.

## 6. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting will be arranged in due course, date to be advised.

There being no other business, the Chair declared the meeting closed.

Website: <a href="http://www.transportsafetyappg.org.uk/">http://www.transportsafetyappg.org.uk/</a>

Secretariat

Parliamentary Advisory Council for Transport Safety (PACTS)

Contact

David G Davies, Executive Director, PACTS <a href="mailto:davies@pacts.org.uk">david.davies@pacts.org.uk</a> 0207 222 7732