



All Party Parliamentary Group in Social Science and Policy

MINUTES

Living Standards

Tuesday 11 February 2025, House of Commons

PRESENT: Yuan Yang MP (chair), Lord Philip Norton (co-chair), Baroness Ruth Lister (officer), Lord Prem Sikka, Lord Bryan Davies, Maya Ellis MP, Noah Law MP

IN ATTENDANCE: Adrian Pabst (University of Kent), Anna Henry (Institute for Fiscal Studies), Carol Vincent (NIESR), Danielle Moore-Chick (ESRC), Duncan McCombie (YES Energy Solutions), Ed Biggins (Palace Yard), Emily Clarke (ESRC), Hannah Absalom (University of Birmingham), Isabel Fleming (Office of Josh Simons MP), Jack Cryer (Palace Yard), Karl Baddeley (Office of Yuan Yang MP), Matthew Cole (Fuel Bank Foundation), Roberta Blackman-Woods (Palace Yard).

SPEAKERS: Alfie Stirling (Joseph Rowntree Foundation), Emily Fry (Resolution Foundation), and Afzal Rahman (Trades Union Congress).

Welcome

Yuan Yang MP introduced Alfie Stirling, Emily Fry, Afzal Rahman and welcomed guests.

Date of next meeting

The next meeting of the Social Science and Policy APPG will be on 25 March 2025 where we will looking at the NHS and how it can be reformed.

The APPG for Social Science and Policy is sponsored by the UKRI's Economic and Social Research Council and the secretariat delivered by Palace Yard

