

# All Party Parliamentary Group for Small Modular Reactors AGM Minutes

Date: 7<sup>th</sup> December 2022 Time: 13:00 Location: Room O, Portcullis House, House of Commons, SW1A 0AA.

## Attendees:

- Virginia Crosbie MP;
- Katherine Fletcher MP;
- Mark Fletcher MP;
- Liz Saville Roberts MP ; and,
- Sir John Whittingdale MP OBE.

### Secretariat:

- Havard Hughes (Barndoor Strategy); and,
- Daniel Paterson (Barndoor Strategy).

## **Apologies:**

- Lord Wigley;
- Mark Eastwood MP;
- Chris Green MP;
- Lord Howell of Guildford; and,
- Clive Betts MP.

### 1. Introductions

MPs and Peers were welcomed to the AGM by Chair Virginia Crosbie MP.

### 2. Re-Appointment of Secretariat

# Agreed: Barndoor Strategy appointed as the Secretariat of the APPG for Small Modular Reactors (SMRs)

### 3. Election of the Chair

Virginia Crosbie MP was proposed as Chair by Mark Fletcher MP and was elected unanimously as Chair

### 4. Election of the Co-Chair and Officers

The following Co-Chair and Officers were proposed by Virginia Crosbie MP and Mark Fletcher MP and elected unanimously:

- Baroness Sue Hayman (Co-chair)
- Liz Saville Roberts (Officer)
- Chris Green (Treasurer)
- Jill Mortimer (Officer)
- Katherine Fletcher (Officer)



# 5. Focus of the APPG's work during 2023

Havard Hughes (Secretariat) outlined the planned works of the SMR APPG over the course of 2023. It was resolved that the SMR APPG would produce a guide for parliamentarians on nuclear energy.

It was also suggested by the Chair Virginia Crosbie MP that the APPG take up the invitation of Mark Menzies MP to visit Springfields Nuclear Fuels in the spring.

# Action: Secretariat to take forward the plans for the MPs guide. Action: Secretariat to liaise with Mark Menzies MP regarding an APPG visit to Springfields

## 6. Any other business

There was no additional business.

The Chair thanked the attendees and the Annual General Meeting of the APPG on Small Modular Reactors was closed at 13:10

Barndoor Strategy Secretariat of the APPG on Small Modular Reactors (SMRs) 7 December 2022