## Ireland and Irish in Britain APPG - IGM Minutes

## • Welcome and Introduction to the Ireland and Irish in Britain APPG

In attendance: Adam Jogee MP; Sarah Bool MP; Colum Eastwood MP; Baroness Berger; Grahame Morris MP; Baroness Ludford; Katrina Murray MP; Baroness O'Grady; Baroness Gray; Dave Doogan MP; Seamus Logan MP; Lord Kevin Brennan; Claire Hanna MP; Rachel Hopkins MP; Lord Dubs; Michael Lonergan; Deirdre Costigan MP

- Election of Officers & Members confirmed by attendees
  - Chair Adam Jogee MP
  - Officer Sarah Bool MP
  - Officer Colum Eastwood MP
  - Officer Baroness Luciana Berger
- Programme of events agreed by attendees
  - o 27<sup>th</sup> March Backbench debate on Northern Irish Affairs debate on St Patrick's Day
  - Event with the Irish Embassy
  - Irish Cultural Drop-in
    - Bring together groups representing parts of Irish culture in Britain to hold stalls to engage parliamentarians on how they keep Irish culture alive (Irish traditional music, Irish dancing, Gaelic football and hurling)
  - Summer reception
    - Focusing on Irish traditional food and drink
    - Jubilee room or Speaker's house, bringing in an Irish caterer, good opportunity to engage with the Speaker
  - Roundtable
    - Invite CEO of London Irish centre
    - Could have a focus on health and wellbeing, linking to Irish in Britain Annual report for the year
  - St Brigid's Day celebration 2026
    - Marking the beginning of spring, engaging with Irish traditional history
  - Suggestions from the group
    - Suggestions included hosting engagement focused on the Anglo-Irish relations with regards to the EU, arranging a trip to Northern Ireland and working alongside the parliamentary assembly and parliament in Stormont. The importance of local movements was emphasised, particularly in Scotland and Wales, with suggestions of visits to local Irish centres. Culture was also mentioned, and plans put forward to visit Irish sports groups and the London Guiness Brewery.

Adam Jogee MP Grahame Morris MP Baroness Ludford Katrina Murray MP Baroness O'Grady **Baroness Gray** Colum Eastwood MP Sarah Bool MP Dave Doogan MP Seamus Logan MP Lord Kevin Brennan Claire Hanna MP **Rachel Hopkins MP** Lord Dubs **Baroness Berger** Michael Lonergan Deirdre Costigan MP Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill **Baroness Nicholson** Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick **Beccy Cooper MP Claire Hughes MP** Damian Hinds MP **Danny Beales MP** Harriet Cross MP Karen Bradley MP Liam Conlon MP Lord Brady Lord Dobbs Lord Randall Lord Donoghue Lord Watson Lord Hendy Lord Murphy of Torfaen Lord Stevenson of Balmacara Mary Kelly Foy MP Michael Payne MP Nia Griffiths MP Samantha Niblett MP Sarah Coombes MP Sorcha Eastwood MP Tan Dhesi MP Tim Roca MP Tonia Antoniazzi MP