All-Party Parliamentary Group for the Commonwealth INNAUGURAL MEETING Thursday 25th July 2024 at 16:00 Residence 1, House of Lords London, SW1A 0AA

Present:

Andrew Rosindell M.P. The Rt Hon. The Viscount Waverley The Rt Hon. The Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury C.B.E. The Rt Hon. The Baroness Pitkeathley O.B.E. The Rt Hon. The Lord Bellingham The Rt Hon. The Lord Kamall of Edmonton The Rt Hon. The Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Martin Vickers M.P. Greg Smith M.P. Damien Egan M.P. The Rt Hon. The Baroness Hooper C.M.G. D.S.G. F.R.S.A. F.R.G.S. The Rt Hon. The Lord Jackson of Peterborough The Rt Hon. The Baroness Uddin Adam Jogee M.P.

1. Opening of Meeting & Introduction

- **1.1** Andrew Rosindell M.P. thanked all those for coming and commended Lord Kamall's efforts in ensuring the Commonwealth APPG remained active in the months leading up to the dissolution of Parliament.
- 1.2 Andrew Rosindell M.P. explained that due to the rule changes which were agreed by Parliament on the governance of APPGs last year, namely the cap on how many groups one may be an officer of, there is now a need for some groups to establish sub-committees to ensure that all interests may be represented by members who may be unable to formally do so due to the cap. This point was reinforced by comments made by Baroness Uddin and Baroness Nicholson.
- **1.3** Lord Kamall explained to those present what the group had achieved over the course of the last year, namely with a description of the "Vision for the Commonwealth" series of meetings.

2. Apologies

2.1 Apologies given by: Dan Carden M.P., The Rt Hon. The Baroness Northover, and The Rt Hon. The Lord Popat.

3. Adoption of the aims of the group

3.1 The group's aims were unanimously agreed by all present and are now publicly viewable on the Register of All-Party Parliamentary Groups.

4. Election of Officers

- 4.1 Chairman: Andrew Rosindell M.P.
- 4.2 Co-Chair: The Rt Hon. The Lord Kamall of Edmonton
- 4.3 Co-Chair: Adam Jogee M.P.
- 4.4 Vice-Chair: The Rt Hon. The Baroness Uddin

5. Appointment of Honorary Positions and Appointment of Clerk

- 5.1 Honorary President The Rt Hon. The Lord Howell of Guildford
- 5.2 Honorary Advisor Daniel Kawczynski, Former Member of Parliament for Shrewsbury
- 5.3 Clerk Pierre-Louis Plumejeau-Wilby

6. Future Programme

- **6.1** Lord Kamall outlined the groups plans for the future of the "Vision for the Commonwealth" series of meetings, with arrangements to be made during recess.
- **6.2** It was agreed by the newly elected officers of the group that a meeting would take place between the four of them to discuss the programme further.

7. Any Other Business

- **7.1** Baroness Hooper suggested the group have a meeting on the matter of Commonwealth Education, namely on the "Commonwealth of Learning" to raise awareness of their objectives.
- **7.2** It was formally declared that the APPG has no finances and no registrable benefits have been received by the group.

----Meeting ended at 16:17 ---