## ClimateTech APPG IGM

## Session Minutes



Format: Roundtable IGM

Date: Monday 16th December

Time: 14.00-15.00

Venue: Macmillan Committee Room, Portcullis House, 1 Victoria

**Embankment, London SW1A 2JR** 

Chair/Facilitator: Charlie Mercer

**Objective:** To hold the Inaugural General Meeting of the new All-Party Parliamentary Group on ClimateTech

## Attendees:

- Steve Race MP
- Lord Graham Evans
- Edward Morello MP
- Brian Mathew MP
- Josh Babarine MP
- Claire Hughes MP
- Luke Charters MP
- Earl John Russell
- Andrew Pakes MP (Joined Late)
- Alex Barros-Curtis MP (Joined Late)

## Minutes:

- The meeting was opened at 14.05 by the Chair.
- Members were welcomed and introduced to one another.
- The Chair introduced members to Startup Coalition and its interests in supporting the setting up of the APPG.
- The Chair confirmed that the proposed Statement of Purpose for the APPG is: "The ClimateTech APPG will champion the UK's £26bn ClimateTech sector, bridging policymakers and innovators to advance technologies tackling emissions, adapting to climate change, and enhancing sustainability. It will foster collaboration, celebrate innovation, and drive impactful dialogue to position the UK as a leader in climate solutions."
- Members agreed to this.
- The Chair confirmed that the APPG will be a "subject" APPG and be registered within 28 days of this meeting.
- The Chair confirmed that more than 20 parliamentarians were confirmed as members as of 16/12/24.
- The Chair confirmed that Startup Coalition will provide benefit in kind secretariat support in excess of £1,500 p/a and will therefore conduct the APPG in line with the requirements in turn.

- The Chair confirmed that any future donation funded activities will be discussed with the Chair & Officers.
- The Chair set out the goals of the APPG are to celebrate and raise the profile of the ClimateTech sector, and provide members with more insight into the opportunities to further unlock its growth.
- The Chair oversaw the election of the APPG Chair and officers:
  - Steve Race MP was elected unanimously as APPG Chair
  - Lord Graham Evans, Edward Morello MP, and Brian Mathew MP were elected unanimously as APPG Officers.
- The Chair provided an overview to the members of the draft workplan, including the first evidence session to be held in the new year.
- The Chair confirmed that Startup Coalition would proceed with the necessary steps to formally set up the ClimateTech APPG.
- The meeting was closed at 14.35.