



All-Party Parliamentary Group on Social Media

Annual General Meeting 2022

Tuesday 24 May 2022 3:30pm-4pm

Room U, Portcullis House

#### Attendees:

Luke Pollard MP

Aaron Bell MP

Lord Lipsey

Valerie Vaz MP

Wayne David MP

#### **Apologies:**

Chris Elmore MP Baroness Brady of Knightsbridge CBE Bambos Charalambous MP Laura Trott MP

#### 1. Welcome

Luke Pollard MP welcomed everyone to the AGM. Chris Elmore MP, outgoing Chair of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Social Media, sent his apologies that he'd been urgently called away to a debate.

The Group does not need to publish an income or expenditure statement as the cost of the Secretariat's time does not meet the threshold.

# 2. Election of Chair

Chris Elmore MP will be stepping down from Chair of the APPG.

Valerie Vaz nominated Luke Pollard MP and Aaron Bell MP to take over as Co-Chairs of the APPG. This was seconded by Lord Lipsey and unanimously passed by all attendees.

## 3. Appointment of Officers

Dr Lisa Cameron MP is stepping down as Vice Chair of the APPG.

Lord Lipsey will take on the role of Secretary of the Group.

Bambos Charalambous MP and Baroness Brady confirmed prior to the meeting via email that they would like to continue as Vice Chairs.

Laura Trott MP confirmed prior to the meeting via email that she would like to join the APPG as a member.

## 4. Appointment of Secretariat

Luke Pollard MP nominated the UK Safer Internet Centre to continue as Secretariat of the APPG. Aaron Bell MP seconded this and it was unanimously passed by all attendees.

### 5. Discussion

There was a short discussion about the future workplan of the APPG. Luke Pollard MP and Aaron Bell MP would like to conduct another inquiry, possibly focused on an issue related to CSEA.

The Co-Chairs noted how the Group has had a successful track record conducting insightful inquiries previously with Chris Elmore MP as Chair.

# 6. Any other business

The APPG would like to thank Chris Elmore MP for his leadership of the Group over the last few years.

Action: Secretariat to register the result of the AGM with the appropriate authorities.